
Who's Penalized When a Putt Hits the 

Flagstick? 

Scenario… 

Edith Bunker and Minnie Driver both had great approach shots and now their 
golf balls lie on the green. Minnie is away and asks Edith to remove the flagstick 
so that she can putt. Edith removes the flagstick and places it on the ground a 
few feet from the hole.  Minnie putts her ball and it runs passed the hole and 
strikes the flagstick. Minnie says, “Now look what happened! It’s your fault I hit 
the flagstick. You put it there.”…Who gets the penalty in this situation? 
 

Rule 17-3a will help you answer this one 

After a stroke is made on the green, the ball may not strike the 
flagstick, whether the pin is in the hole, attended or lying on the 
putting surface.  

The ball's path is the sole responsibility of the person who struck 
it.  

She should have been aware that her putt might hit the stick.  

The Penalty: 

2 strokes in Stroke play (ball must be played as it lies) / Loss of 
hole in Match Play 

 


