
PLAYING THE BALL IN A HAZARD 

When faced with having to hit a golf ball out of a hazard, the golfer cannot test the conditions of 

the hazard by touching the ground with his hand or club. A golfer cannot remove loose 

impediments in the same hazard. The golfer also is not permitted to create a stance, swing or line 

of play by moving, bending or altering anything growing or fixed, such as a tree branch, out of 

bounds stake and reeds. It does not matter whether the object in question is inside or outside the 

hazard.  

 

Though a golfer can't ground his club in a hazard when addressing the ball, the club can touch or 

brush anything deemed to be an integral part of the golf course such as bushes, trees or any other 

growing thing during address and swing.  

 

Once the golfer has hit his ball out of the hazard there are no restrictions on his or her touching 

and smoothing the ground or removing loose impediments from the hazard. 

Golfers who violate rules governing playing golf balls from bunkers or hazards are assessed a 

two-stroke penalty in stroke play. YIKES! 

 

 

 

 

 
     

    


